• Follow aka_robyn on Twitter

“Egotist”?

Sebastian Vettel, in an interview in Der Spiegel, has some candid things to say about the nature of competition in Formula 1.  In two English-language articles now [ESPNF1; Planet F1], I’ve seen him quoted as saying that “every driver is an egotist.”  When I look at the Der Spiegel article, however, I’m having trouble finding that particular statement.

Am I looking at the wrong article?  Or is my ability to translate German that bad?

Also: I know ripping on Vettel has become a very popular pastime among F1 fans, but honestly: which part of what he said in this article is actually objectionable in any way? I find some of the vitriol I’m reading in comments around the interweb downright baffling.

Leave a Reply

