• Follow aka_robyn on Twitter

Most Memorable Moments of 2010 (So Far)

James Allen recently asked his readers about their “favourite” moment of the 2010 Formula 1 season so far. I put “favourite” in quotes there both because (a) I don’t want anyone to think I’m trying to pass as British or something and (b) that was the word he used, although many people’s answers seemed to be more about what they felt was the most pivotal/unforgettable moment, which I suppose might or might not be the same as a given person’s favorite.

Reading through the examples he provided to start things off, I often found myself thinking “Oh, yeah . . . man, that was great!”  For instance, Vettel’s pole lap in Australia: that actually reminded me of Vettel’s final qualifying lap in China, which was the one that really had me leaping out of my seat for whatever reason.  And the gleeful Red Bull celebrations in Monaco.  Granted, I like Red Bull to begin with, but that kind of joy has to be almost universally infectious, right?

It would be hard for me to pick one favorite, though.  The day Bruno Senna makes it into the points, my answer will be a no-brainer, but until then?  There have been a lot of great moments but not one overwhelming standout.

The moments that tend to really stand out for me are the bad ones.  Maybe that’s natural: being just gutted by something is almost always going to overshadow being, you know, pretty damn happy about something.  For me, anyway.  When I consider those moments over the course of the 2010 season so far, my personal worst is immediately apparent, as are the two runners up:

1.  The news that Bruno Senna would not be racing in the British Grand Prix. This, for me, was far and away the worst moment of the season so far — because, at first, it wasn’t at all clear that he hadn’t just been booted off the team for good.  And then, once it did become clear that that probably wasn’t the case, it was hard to trust that he wouldn’t suddenly be replaced again, regardless.  I subsequently spent quite a bit of time trying to track down news about what was happening and why, as well as compiling a chronological list of events and links, in an effort to try to get it all straight in my own head.  Of course, as we now know, things ended up being even worse for Bruno’s teammate, Karun Chandhok.  I think it’s safe to say that nothing that team does at this point could surprise me.  Thanks, Hispania Racing, for divesting me of so much of that annoying naiveté I’d been saddled with for so long!  Much obliged.

2.  Mark Webber’s terrifying crash in Valencia. Pretty much everything that can be said about this has already been said a million times.  Despite the relief that he was totally okay, the fact that it initially seemed obvious that he couldn’t possibly be okay and the ensuing sheer terror was…well, really awful, to say the least.  It was impossible to get into the race at all after that point, at least for me, and the images of the crash haunted me for days.

3.  Webber and Vettel crashing in Istanbul. I could hardly believe what I was seeing when that happened!  At the time, I found it extremely upsetting, although, looking at it in hindsight, I can sort of understand how it ended up being the fan favorite on James Allen’s site.  Say what you want about Vettel (and man, do people ever not hesitate to do that!), and say what you want about whether Christian Horner is actually willing to just let his drivers race — but I like to think that one thing that incident showed is that both Red Bull drivers’ response to a Ferarri-esque team order might be something along the lines of “Eh? What was that? Can’t say I quite understood that message . . .”  ;-)

Speaking of which, I suppose Honorable Mention ought to go to THE SCUDERIA (in my universe, those words are always accompanied by a thunder clap and darkly ominous music) for the…

4.  Team orders controversy. I was more disgusted and disillusioned than gutted by this one; hence, the mere Honorable Mention.  Although it did helpfully take care of those odd remaining scraps of my naiveté that HRT couldn’t be bothered with.  All I can say is, when I win the lottery (and I think my chances are good, if I ever actually get around to playing it), I am SO not buying a Ferrari.  Yeah!  Take that!

Leave a Reply

