• Follow aka_robyn on Twitter

Senna Helmet Challenge: Standing By…

As you know, Bruno Senna recently held a contest in which fans could send in helmet designs to celebrate what would have been Ayrton Senna’s fiftieth birthday year. The winning design was supposed to have been announced on Monday, September 20.  As far as I can tell, it hasn’t.  Then again, I haven’t actually visited his web site within the past couple of days, because it has been identified by Google as a site that “may harm your computer.”

I’m not at all knowledgeable about how these things work, but the Google Safe Browsing diagnostic page identifies two Russian domains as the hosts of malware added to Senna’s site (and many others).  As it says on the diagnostic page, “In some cases, third parties can add malicious code to legitimate sites.”  Senna’s site itself is not the ultimate source of the malware; instead, like thousands of other sites, it’s being used as an intermediary.

Anyway, the timing could hardly be worse, as anyone Googling Bruno Senna’s web site because they were thinking, “Hey, wonder who won that contest,” will immediately see a link saying “This site may harm your computer.”  I have scripts disabled in Firefox, but I’m still a little nervous about taking any chances — this sad little netbook I’m using is my only fully operational computer at the moment!  Then again, there might not be an announcement to see yet.  He usually announces things on both Facebook and Twitter, as well as on his official blog, and I’ve seen nothing about the results of the challenge in those places, either.  (If anyone reading this has additional information, please tell me!)

In any event, I’m sure we’ll hear something soon.  I’m interested to see whether the helmet design that looks just like the one I’d been working on ends up winning.  ;-)

Edited 9/24: All fixed! (And the one that looks like the one I’d been working on DID win!)

Leave a Reply

